Top Ten Books That Should Definitely be in Your Beach Bag This Summer

I am so ready for summer! I only have three more days of Jr. High left (HALLELUJAH!!). I really need some sun… I seriously am starting to look like Lady Mary from Downton Abbey.

ladymary.gif

Lots of people go to the beach to surf, tan, do bonfires, hang out with friends, etc. Well, I go to read (and sometimes hang out with the three friends that I have). Besides the screaming kids who are on summer vacation, it’s quite peaceful.

 

If you’re like me (well, no one is quiet like me…I’m what you call “a very rare type”), and you constantly need new books to read during the summer, you’ve come to the right place! Here are ten books that you MUST have in your beach bag this summer:

 

1: To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

I just read this book for the first time recently, and I loved it! It is considered a classic. I had to read it for school, and to be honest, I was expecting something completely different from the title. But, it turned out even better than I was expecting!

 

2: They Loved to Laugh by Kathryn Worth

Before this book, I had never cried reading a book. But this book ripped my heart out, put it in a blender, and smashed it with a hammer a couple thousand times. I bet that totally makes you want to read it! This book is a love story, and it’s a sad one. But it’s such great literature, I had to recommend it.

 

3: Maze Runner by James Dashner 

You can read my book review on Maze Runner HERE. This book is wonderful (heart wrenching, but wonderful). Seriously, I think it should be a law that all humans must read this book. Dashner is an AWESOME author! I’m in the middle of the third book in the series, and it’s great so far!

 

4: The Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling (but only if you can get the paperback version)

The reason I say that is because the hardcovers weigh about as much as my refrigerator. And no one in their right mind wants to take a refrigerator with them in their beach bag. If you do find paperback, Harry Potter is the best book series I’ve ever read by far. Just do not get sand on these precious books. Or I will find you. And I will take your books. And I will treat them how they are supposed to be treated. (Totally kidding, but not really).

 

5: The Last Dragonslayer by Jasper Fforde 

(First of all, no, I did not spell that last name wrong…it really is spelled with two f’s). Anyway, this book is really cool. For one thing, it takes place over the course of a few days. Most books are set over a long period of time. And they normally show what a long adventure a hero goes on, something like that. As I mentioned before, this book is different in that it covers such a short span of time, which is really interesting. It was really well done. Also, it has DRAGONS! So, there’s that. I guess it would be a pretty lame title if it didn’t have any dragons….duh.

 

6: The Hunger Games Series by Suzanne Collins 

This series is another one of my favorites. I recommend the whole series, because you just can’t read the first one and be done. You must read the entire series. Check out my book review on the first book HERE. And the second book review HERE. And the third book review…oh wait, I haven’t written that yet.

 

7: Keeping Score by Linda Sue Park

For someone who likes baseball, this is a great book! I really enjoy baseball, so of course I liked this book. It’s about a girl who would keep the scores of baseball games by listening to them on the radio. (And she’s a fan of the Dodgers, so that makes it even better).

 

8: Rules of the Road by Joan Bauer

From the title, I was expecting a book about how to drive. But it is actually a book about a girl who just learned to drive, and goes on a road trip. Well, that is one way to describe it. It’s a really funny book, and I was laughing practically the whole time while reading it.

 

9: The Wishing Spell by Chris Colfer

This book takes a different spin on fairy tales. I read it a while ago, but I remember really loving it. It’s a very interesting and well written book. There are some funny jokes (which is always a good thing). Now, this is technically a book for younger readers…but I know a lot of teens that like it too. Also, I’ve heard of some adults liking it too.

 

10: The Percy Jackson Series by Rick Riordan

I wouldn’t recommend that you take the whole series to the beach all at once, because that would make your beach bag pretty heavy. You can read my series review for these books HERE. This is my second favorite book series (behind Harry Potter). Rick Riordan has a great sense of humor, and I love funny books. Also, he’s just a great writer in general, so just read the book. You won’t regret it.

 

chatwithme

 

What are some books that I should read this summer? I’d love any book recommendations. Because I’ve already read all the books I mentioned up top (obviously), I really could use some more books to read.

 

ALSO, for those of you who haven’t heard of this amazing (life saving, really) website: Goodreads is great for avid readers like me. Goodreads basically keeps track of your books. You can create an account, look up the book you’re reading, and mark it as “currently reading”. That way, when people look up your account, they will see what you’re reading. And if there is a book you want to read, and don’t want to forget about, there is a way to mark it as “want to read”. It’s awesome! Also, you can create reading groups, and you can friend-request all of your little friends on there. Check out my profile HERE and make sure to friend me while you’re at it! (And who knows, maybe in the near future I’ll do a blog post about how awesome Goodreads is…)

 

Thanks for reading! Have a great day!

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Books That Should Definitely be in Your Beach Bag This Summer

Add yours

  1. I loooove TKAM and The Hunger Games SO SO MUCH TOO. *heart eyes* And Percy Jackson and Harry Potter are both so fab. Definitely perfect holiday reads if you want to binge-read a whole series, right?! And YAS to another Dashner fan!! I love his books!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ohhh YESSS (we are literally the same person)!! We’ll have to eat cake and talk about our favorite books sometime!

      P.S. Just wanted to let you know that it means literally SO MUCH to me that you commented on my blog. Seriously, your blog is probably my favorite blog that I follow! You’re totally an inspiration to me!!

      Like

  2. Yes to all of these! I love the Harry Potter, Hunger Games, and Percy Jackson series and am definitely going to reread them this summer. 🙂 Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous choices! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ohhh thank you!! I think I’ll have to re-read those this summer too! Ugh, I have soooo many good books I want to read, not to mention the ones I want to re-read!! Thank you so much for reading!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

