The Pressure of Society on Teen Girls

Is it just me, or is society putting too much pressure on girls these days? It seems like almost every girl out there is obsessed with how they look. No one really cares about what a girl is like on the inside anymore. All people care about is how they look on the outside.

 

In the Bible, God tells us that being beautiful on the inside is much more important than being beautiful on the outside.

societypostbibleverse

God cares about what your heart looks like. He cares about your attitude, about your intentions, and about how you show the fruit of the Spirit.

 

People these days contradict the Bible so much, it’s honestly astonishing. It’s really depressing too. Girls are told that they need to be skinny and beautiful, just so they are not an outcast in society.

 

A lot of girls struggle with low self-esteem, and even depression, just because they aren’t pretty enough in the world’s eyes. Even girls that don’t agree with the world’s ways, struggle with low self-esteem because society is almost crushing them. Everywhere you turn, there is a magazine, website, or TV show that shows girls that they need to be pretty.

 

There will always be someone prettier than me. But you know what? It doesn’t matter. I know that God looks on the inside more so than the outside. And my main goal is to please Him, not the world. And if I can please God by being a good, Christian girl on the inside, then I shouldn’t be spending too much time worrying about the way I look on the outside. I want to spend my time perfecting the way I am on the inside (I know I’ll never be perfect, obviously, but I can always strive to get as close as I can).

 

Girls are literally starving themselves because they want to look the way the world wants them to. Well, you know, God doesn’t really care about that stuff! He doesn’t really care about the way you look, He cares more so about the way you act.

 

Girls, don’t obsess over guys who treat you like you need to be prettier. You are perfect just the way you are. Work on being good on the inside. Find someone who wants to help you become a better person in your walk of faith. Don’t think you have to be one way just because some TV show or magazine tells you so. You don’t need to follow the ways of the world just to find a guy who will like you. You see, a guy who likes you just because you’re pretty isn’t the kind of guy you need. You need a guy who likes you for being all that God has made you to be. Someone who likes you because of your Christian faith.

 

You don’t need to change if a guy tells you to. You don’t need to change if society tells you to. You need to change if God tells you to.

 

I grew up memorizing the fruit of the Spirit. Love, Joy, Peace, Patience, Kindness, Goodness, Faithfulness, Gentleness, and Self Control. Those are the things God cares about. Did you notice that “Appearance” isn’t one of those? He wants you to display the fruit of the Spirit. That’s what he cares about most.

 

Now, I’m not saying that you don’t need to take care of your body. Your body is something God has gifted you, and you should treat it well. Mistreating your body is like if a friend gives you a birthday  present, and you break it soon after. Just because God doesn’t look on the outside as much as He looks on the inside, you should still treat your body right.

 

I know girls that have stayed up at night crying over their looks. I’ve struggled with that too. It’s hard when it seems like all of your friends are prettier than you. A lot of my friends are really skinny. It’s hard looking at them and realizing that I’m not skinny like them. Sometimes they disappear when they turn sideways and I don’t know where they are…just kidding…I thought that was funny. 

 

I’m not skinny. I’m not necessarily fat either, but society has taught me to think that I am. Society has put that in the heads of all the teen girls. I met a girl, who was literally a teenage model, and when I offered her something to eat, she said “Oh, no, I’m too fat already.”  AND NO JOKE, she was one the skinniest people I had ever met. Society has taught girls to think that way.  

 

Is it just me, or do girls have absolutely no self esteem these days? A lot of girls I know will degrade themselves in public. Seriously, THIS IS NOT OKAY. To all girls out there, I want you to know, YOU ARE BEAUTIFUL! You are wonderful IN GOD’S EYES. And believe me, it doesn’t matter what anyone else thinks as long as GOD thinks you’re beautiful. AND HE DOES!

 

I really hope this has impacted girls out there. I know life can be tough sometimes, and the pressure may seem unbearable. But GOD WILL GET YOU THROUGH IT! If you stay up crying at night, one of the things that has helped me, is being able to PRAY. One of the nice things about God is that he never closes shop. You can talk to Him anytime.

chatwithme

Speaking of talking, you can also talk to me too! I’m totally free to talk in the comments below. Please, tell me if you need any help or encouragement! I’m here for you!! Have a beautiful day, friends!

7 thoughts on “The Pressure of Society on Teen Girls

Add yours

  1. Great work on this post! It’s a message that can’t be said enough.Should we walk around without showering and in the same dirty clothes we’ve worn all week? No. But at the same time, our society and culture has elevated outward appearance to god status. It was never meant to be the end all be all of existence. But that doesn’t mean deodorant is a bad thing. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes!!!! Way to go Harley!!! I’m so glad you learn and are aware of these things at a young age so you can help other girls, whether 12 or 25, who struggle with outward appearance. Good work! Keep broadcasting!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is such an awesome message that WAY MORE people should be exposed to! I grew up homeschooled and spending most of my time with my church friends, so it amazed me when I went to public school this year and was faced with all the pressures that the kids put on each other. Thanks for the awesome post!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know, right?! So many people deny that society is putting pressure on girls, it’s truly sad. I have never personally been to a public or private school, and I can’t even imagine how much pressure they put on you. Thanks for reading! 😆

      Like

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

