The Truth About NaNoWriMo

I haven’t posted in forever, and I’m sorry for that. Life has been a little crazy lately. You know, since I’m writing a novel. Trust me, NaNoWriMo is a lot harder than I thought it would be. This is my first year, and the busiest November that I have ever experienced. I’m preparing for a concert that I’m preforming in, taking music lessons weekly, someone in my family is going through serious health issues, and, on top of all that, I decided to write a novel. I think I planned my month perfectly, don’t you? That was a rhetorical question.

A lot of the things that are happening this month were unforeseen. I didn’t know my family member would need surgery. I had no clue that I was going to be in a concert. All of this happened about a day after I started writing. Talk about bad luck.

I’ve learned a few things over the last 14 days. But, the most important is probably this: Life isn’t going to stop just so you can write a novel.

You heard me. I didn’t know what NaNoWriMo was going to be like coming into this November. Well, I hate to break it to you, but it’s hard. I wanted to quit three days into it. But, my family kept me going. My parents have been huge supporters of me. Every time I come out of my room (maybe once a day) and tell them how large my word count is, they get super excited for me. They tell me that they’re so proud of me.

I don’t think I would have continued NaNoWriMo if my parents hadn’t cheered me on. Because, as I said before, it’s a lot harder than I thought it would be. Going into this I thought I can write a blog post in about 20 minutes. And each blog post is around 750 words. If I have to write around 1,500 words per day… that’s around 2 blog posts a day. No problem. I got this.

I was wrong. Apparently, two blog posts a day for 30 days straight is a lot more than a teenager can handle.

I read posts saying how life changing NaNoWriMo is. How, if you’re a writer, you absolutely have to do it. You read about people saying that they finished it in a week, not a month. I still have yet to read a blog post telling me exactly what I was getting myself into. Let me enlighten you.

Most days, you don’t want to write. Even if you’re a hard core writer, you still get writers block. You still get tired. Your hands don’t want to type away at the keyboard anymore. If you’ve had a long day at school, or doing something, you just want to come home and rest. But, because you need to write your 1,500 words for the day, you can’t just take a nap. If you miss one day, you’ll need to write 3,000 the next day. And trust me, that’s no fun.

You can’t just sit down and watch The Flash for the rest of the day. Sometimes, I just wish I could speed type and have my writing done in seconds, so then I could sit down and watch endless episodes of The Flash. Because, let’s be honest, The Flash is amazing.

Image result for gif of the flash

But, really, you don’t have time to just sit down and watch a movie. I’m in Jr. High, I have absolutely no free time. At least I’m homeschooled, so that makes it a little easier. Now, you could have free time, if you’re like a rooster and get up at the crack of dawn. I get up at a reasonable hour, thank you very much.

Unfortunately, school gets in the way. If you’ve already graduated, good for you. But for those of us still in school, it gets tough. I’m homeschooled, so my Mom always tells me “Math and reading first!” whenever I’m thinking about waking up early and writing. She says that if I can get up early to write, I can easily get up early and finish school. Then, I have the rest of the day to write. Doing math is not fun at 6am (or at any time, for that matter). Writing? Maybe. But, math… that’s not gonna happen.

I know I’m making it sound as if NaNoWriMo is terrible. That it takes up all your time. That you won’t get to live your life throughout November. Now, it is true that it takes up all your time. It is true that you won’t have much of a life, and have to have nothing on your calendar. But, hear me out, it will pay off. For a lot of people, if they don’t have a challenge like this, it takes them years to finish their book. But you can do it in just a month.

I have a few friends that want to do the challenge, but don’t have the time. So their taking it easy and only doing 25,000 words. Now, I’m not saying 25k is easy. I’m just saying its easier than 50k.

I hope this post has helped you understand what on earth you are getting yourself into when you sign up for NaNoWriMo. Let me know if you’re a participant, and I’ll go friend you on the website! My username is SoCalScribbler, so you can go friend me! Let me know, by commenting, how you are doing in the competition. Are you on track? Great! Are you a little behind? Don’t worry, my friend. You will catch up!

Don’t forget to like this post, and maybe share it too!

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “The Truth About NaNoWriMo

Add yours

  1. And the best thing is…life only gets busier from here on out!! 😀 (Trust me. I’m doing NaNo and I’m in college.) I’ve noticed that the people who finish in a week or less are usually full-time writers, so maybe that should be a more widely-known fact. One of the fun things about college, though, is that you get to manage your own time, so you can write first thing in the morning if you want to. I did that today. I find it to be very effective. (Although my Spanish homework isn’t done yet but…MY PROFESSOR DIDN’T SEND THE POWERPOINT SO I AM GOING TO DEFLECT BLAME LIKE A BULLET FROM A STORMTROOPER.)
    Anyway. Props for you for doing that now! In some ways I think writing during high school and jr. high is even harder because you don’t really get to choose who or what takes time from your life. So go you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s so awesome that you’re doing NaNoWriMo too! I, obviously, don’t know what college is like… but it sounds nice, being that you get to choose your schedule and everything. I know a blogger (though I’m not sure how old) that finished NaNo in 3 days! I’m guessing she is in college. I hope you win! Good luck! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

